Book meme day 2

Day 2: A book that you wish more people had read.

1. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, by Jonathan Safran Foer. I think this is my favorite book so far this year. Same author as Everything is Illuminated, which I also liked, but not as much as this one. I’m not going to say anything about the plot, since I think the idea of this prompt is to get you all to read it.

2. The Value of Nothing, by Raj Patel. It’s a snarky political economics book. I think I probably got more out of this than the average man on the street because of my degree in political theory. I’ve already read most of the authors he references; Smith, Hobbes, etc. What was different in this was really the sense of humor.

3. The Dark Side: The Inside Story on How the War on Terror Turned into a War on American Ideals by Jane Mayer and Blackwater: Rise of the World’s Most Powerful Mercenary Army by Jeremy Scahill. These books complement each other greatly, being slightly different angles on the same events in recent history. They’re a hard read, but I think it’s important as an American to know what is being done by my country.

