Another Comic-Con Post

Yes, I’ll get back to the knitting soon. I’ve got a few items blocking and waiting for their photo shoots as we speak, including the shawl I knit at SDCC.

I managed to make it through 3 whole days of Comic-Con this year, more than any other year. I think the main reason for this is I finally (in my 4th year) figured out to just not do things I don’t like. In previous years I spent significant time on the show floor, battling my way from booth to booth, and hating every second of it. This year I was down there for about 30 minutes and decided that was enough. I don’t care to pick up clutter disguised as swag, and I hate being jostled by crowds. Sitting in panels and chatting with friends is much more my SDCC persona.

Friday I spent the entire day in Ballroom 20. What can I say, I really wanted to see the True Blood panel, and the line was insane. Most of the stuff I sat through was at least not actively bad. The day went Stargate Universe, Caprica, Big Bang Theory, Bones, Joss Whedon, Women Who Kick Ass, and True Blood. Besides the TB panel, which was just full of pretty, and confirmed an amnesia storyline from the books is upcoming, the panels I enjoyed most were probably Caprica and BBT, neither of which I watch. The Caprica panel had surprise James Marsters, who opined about Smallville (It’s still on because Tom Wellington is still hot), the Buffy Universe, and Torchwood. And those were just questions from the moderator. BBT had surprise Bare Naked Ladies, who played the theme song for a sing along. It was also the first of 3 panels I randomly saw Wil Wheaton on. That was a lot of Wil Wheaton for someone with no real opinion about the dude. After the panels my friend Mandy and I wandered over to the Room of Fulfillment to pick up Bones and TB freebies. We got the newest Kathy Reichs paperback from the Bones panel, and a huge bag of stuff from TB, including the 3rd Sookie Stackhouse book, a t-shirt, postcards, band-aids, and a notebook. HBO certainly knows how to give good swag.

Saturday most of my day was over at the Hilton in the Indigo Ballroom. It was a nice big room, but had horrible sound problems all day. We started the day off with Leverage, which D is really into (I call it his stories). They gave us show t-shirts (mine says “Mastermind”) that are actually quite nice. The designs aren’t anything super special, but the actual shirt quality is really great. A free shirt I’ll actually wear! This was my 2nd unexpected Wil Wheaton, along with unexpected most of the cast. Christian Kane was pretty funny, and aside from sound issues this was a solid panel. Freebies, sneak previews, funny cast – what more can you ask for? Second panel of the day was Venture Bros. Also a good panel, in a completely different way. Doc Hammer and Jackson Publick got into a long rambling discussion of an awesomely terrible movie called Incognito. I’ve already added it to my Netflix queue. Third was some show on SyFy that looked terrible. No one was actually there to see them either, judging by crowd response and turn-over. Fourth was The Guild, which showed us the best video of all of Comic-Con.

Video: Season 4 – Music Video – “Game On”

You will not be sorry if you watch that, I promise. The Guild was also Wil Wheaton panel number 3. After The Guild was the panel I’d been waiting for, Community. It was worth the wait for my excellent seat (3rd row!) and to see live versions of Donald Glover and Danny Pudi doing both the Biblioteca rap and Somewhere Out There duet. Awesome. After the Q&A I had to scoot out quickly to get back to the main Convention Center for The Vampire Diaries. TVD is totally my stories. It’s so fun and full of pretty. Sadly, it wasn’t a great panel, as the moderator was terrible. But, lots of pretty people and a nice preview reel for season 2, so not a total loss. My absolute last panel was actually a panel about comics, imagine that! The one comic I’m actually really into is Fables, so I was excited to see them this Comic-Con. It was an okay panel. We saw some art previews for upcoming issues that looked AMAZING, so that is super exciting. They also had a pretty cute give away that ties into what’s happening in the comics right now. It’s totally a comic I’d recommend checking out, and your library probably has at least the first couple collections.

