Third time’s a charm

Last time I showed you my Eleanora socks they were in a sad state. Luckily, I spent quite a bit of time on trains in February and March and can now smile about these socks.

Elenora Socks

Pattern: Eleanora by Miriam Felton (apparently I’m totally on a MimKnits kick this week)
Yarn: ShibuiKnits Sock
Needles: 2.25mm Knitpicks 40″ circs, magic loop style.

Elenora Socks

This pattern is pretty great and I’m super happy with how the socks turned out. However, I don’t love this yarn. It was a little stringy for my taste, just not as much spring or elasticity as I like in a sock yarn. I’m also not thrilled with the pooling, but it’s not actually that noticeable in person. The color isn’t quite accurate, since my camera has a hard time with reds. You also might be able to see that one toe is in a different yarn. I ran out of yarn with about 3″ to go on the second sock, so I used some other leftover red yarn from my scrap pile (I think it might be Lorna’s Laces). I knew I was cutting it close on yarn (lots of stitches, tiny gauge, long cuffs, big feet) but I’m still kind of bummed about that.

Elenora Socks

Anyway, to sum up, two enthusiastic thumbs up for the pattern, and just a meh on the yarn. But hey, that’s another project’s worth of yarn from Stitches 2008 knit up! Only 3 skeins of sock yarn left unused from Stitches ’08. Might actually clear out my Stitches backlog in time for next year.

One Response to “Third time’s a charm”

  1. Marisa Says:

    Beautiful!

Comments are closed.


