Culturally Catholic

So, Lent starts this Wednesday, and although I’m no longer religious, being raised Catholic it always gets me thinking. I usually like to do something for Lent. Sometimes something serious, and sometimes something silly (last year I gave up sobriety. It was much harder than anticipated.) but something either way.

Recently I’ve been trying to do a better job about doing the physical therapy for my shoulder injury. It’s something I tend to do in fits. I’ll do the exercises every day for 5 or 6 days, and my shoulder will feel great, so then I slack off, and it starts hurting again. Obviously where I’m going with this is I’ve decided to commit to doing the exercises for the 40 days of Lent. Spending 30 minutes a day on this for a month and a half should definitely get me back in the habit, and do a lot for pain reduction in general. I’ll probably update with my progress a couple times throughout, just to hold myself accountable.

D has decided to make a commitment to eating less meat for the same time period, so we’ll also be road testing a bunch of new vegetarian recipes over the next month and a half. It will be nice to try some new things again, and I do love eating vegetarian (I spend about 2.5 years of my late teens meat free). Now I just need to clean the kitchen so I can take pictures of the process without embarrassment…

