Swallowtail Shawl

Swallowtail Shawl

Pattern: Swallowtail Shawl by Evelyn Clark
Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy in Midnight Derby, 1.5 skeins
Needles: US #7

Swallowtail edging

Modifications: Sock weight yarn rather than lace weight, and an additional 5 repeats of the budding lace. I wanted a larger shawl, and am pretty happy with the size I got. The nupps actually weren’t so bad to knit, I just made sure to keep the increases VERY loose and purling them all together the next row wasn’t a struggle.

Swallowtail Shawl - blocking

The shawl filled up about half my queen sized bed blocking, and had very little spring back when unpinned.

Swallowtail - mid blocking

This in progress blocking shot shows how I go about blocking triangular shawls. First I thread my blocking wires along the top and down the middle, and pin the three corners. Then, as this picture shows, I start splitting the edging in half, and pinning each point. I feel this gets a more even blocking than pinning out all the edging points one after another. I also use a yardstick to make sure the top edge is the same length on each side of the center, and the mid point of each side is the same distance from the center top, but I can get a little obsessive about blocking.

If you knit a lot of lace, I highly recommend getting some blocking wires. They make the whole process so much easier and faster, especially if a straight edge being pointy drives you crazy. This shawl probably took me 15-20 minutes to block, compared to the hour or so I’d spend blocking a shawl before I got wires. I got mine from Knitpicks, but there are several sources out there for wires. Just make sure the ones you get are rustproof.

One Response to “Swallowtail Shawl”

  1. redfear Says:

    Gorgeous!!!!

Comments are closed.


