Koolhaas

It’s been kind of cold and rainy in San Diego the last couple weeks, so I decided I needed a new hat. In just two evenings of DVR knitting, I had this.

Koolhaas

Koolhaas

Pattern: Koolhaas by Jared Flood aka Brooklyn Tweed
Yarn: Anzula For Better or Worsted. 80% superwash merino, 10% cashmere and 10% nylon. I actually went to high school with the owner of Anzula (EHS represent!) and was super excited to see her at Stitches West last year. I picked up this yarn then, before they began their current line of semi-solids, but I think this color is pretty comparable to the Mulberry colorway. It’s a great yarn and a great color.
Needles: US 7 for the ribbing and US 9 for the body of the hat. I went up a size from the pattern on each, because I tend to cable fairly tightly, and the yarn is a pretty heavy worsted.

Koolhaas

I debated for quite a while between the two pattern sizes. The only difference is another inch in length, and I eventually settled on the shorter women’s size, which wound up being perfect. I’m very happy to have another soft and warm hat in the rotation, and can see this becoming a new favorite.

3 Responses to “Koolhaas”

  1. Becki Says:

    Awesome hat! I can’t believe how long your hair got, either.

    • jessimuhka Says:

      Thanks! I know, my hair is getting crazy long. At this point I think I’m going to just keep going until there’s enough to donate.

  2. Sabrina F Says:

    It looks so great!

Comments are closed.


