Socks – Thelonious and Dad’s

One old pair of socks and one new pair today. First the old ones, completed last summer.

Thelonious Sock

Pattern: Thelonious Sock by Cookie A.
Yarn: Malabrigo Sock in Persia
Needles: US 1.5 (2.5mm) magic loop

Thelonious Sock

I think these are my favorite Cookie A socks so far. They were fun to knit and look great, yet avoided being excessively fiddly (more than 20 twisted stitches per row makes me crazy). I might even knit them again in the future.

The second pair of socks, knit this December, are for my dad. My parents and I all have the same size feet, which makes knitting them socks pretty easy. Anyway, Dad likes to garden, and with as wet as this winter is supposed to be, I decided he needed a pair of good wool socks.

Christmas socks for dad

Yarn is GGH Marathon, purchased at a LYS in Fresno years ago. I pulled out a whole mess of yarn after the first sock to try and make the second match, but obviously that didn’t work. Kind of wish I’d just started where I was so they were even further off, but overall they turned out ok. This yarn has a *very* long pattern repeat, which made it hard to figure out where exactly I started the first sock.
Needles were my standard 2.5mm Knitpicks 40″ circ. This is my go-to sock knitting needle, and it has seen me through a ton of socks. I’ve read about other people having issues with the joins going after a few pairs, but so far, so good over here.

Christmas socks for dad

I hope he likes and uses them. I think they’ll go well with the jeans he wears daily and are sufficiently masculine. We shall see.

