D’s birthday dinner

D had a birthday this week, so I decided to make a nice dinner the day after (day of was spent at Disneyland). A couple weeks before his birthday, I saw this recipe on a cooking blog I follow. D absolutely loves lamb and I’d always been afraid to cook it, but the recipe seemed pretty straight forward, so I figured why not. It turned out really delicious!

Dan's birthday dinner

To go with the lamb, I made some mashed red fingerling potatoes and caramelized green beans and we polished off the bottle of Syrah I’d opened for the wine sauce. This was not a cheap meal (ingredients came in at almost $50), but it was less expensive than a trip to a nice restaurant, and we’ve already gotten two meals out of it, with more lamb in the freezer for a third. I also have a plan for the lamb bone that I’ll hopefully share next week.

IMG_1054

All together a very nice evening in, and I conquered my fear of lamb. Thank goodness, because if a piece of meat that expensive had turned out poorly, I would have cried. Probably the most amazing thing of the meal however, was D having 3 servings of green beans.

IMG_1055

Lamb and sauce from Hey That Tastes Good!.

Red mashed potatoes:
2 lbs red fingerling potatoes, scrubbed clean, skins on
milk
butter
salt and pepper
1. cut the potatoes into similarly sized pieces, add to pot, salt, and just cover with water.
2. bring water to boil and cook until easily pierced with a fork
3. drain potatoes and return to pot with aprox. 1/3 c. milk and 2 t. butter. Mash with potato masher and stir in butter and milk. Season with salt and pepper, and adjust milk/butter if needed.

Caramelized Green Beans:
8-10 oz. green beans, stem ends removed
1 T. butter
1 T. olive oil
salt and pepper
1. in a skillet with lid, melt the butter and combine with oil over medium heat.
2. add green beans, toss to coat, and cover.
3. cook, stirring occasionally, until green beans are browned on one size, about 20 min. Season with salt and pepper.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “D’s birthday dinner”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Mmmm, yummy! We’re not big fans of lamb, but that looks great. My grammy loves it, I’ll have to try that recipe when I’m down there visiting.
    Lamb is so expensive in the shops, you’d get so mad if you saw what the farmer’s get for it, I remember being shocked at the price sheet when I took that meat cutting class at BSG (which if I thought your lamb might be rabbit, I guess I get a mighty FAIL for that class). And it does seem much cheaper up here, maybe because we have a lot of local producers.
    Maybe I’ll stock up and pet everything in freezer packs before my next run down. ;)

  2. jillelise Says:

    awesome! I’m glad you liked it!

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

